DreamKeepers 2013 Award Gala

  You are cordially invited to attend

   LINK Unlimited’s

  9th Annual


          DATE: February 6, 2013
          TIME: 6:00 pm Cocktails
                    7:00 pm Dinner

LOCATION: Fairmont Chicago
                    200 North Columbus Drive
                    Chicago, IL

This is LINK Unlimited’s premier annual fundraiser where over 500 of Chicago’s Business, Philanthropic and Community Leaders come together to support our mission of providing educational college preparatory opportunities for economically disadvantaged African American high school youth. This event honors Dr. Martin Luther King’s dream of equality and justice. Here at LINK, we continue to be guided by this principle by focusing on educational crises that affect highly motivated African American youth. The 2013 gala celebrates the accomplishments of our scholars while highlighting the generous and unwavering support of our partners and donors.

The Evening’s Events include: Honoring Edward J. Wehmer, President and CEO of Wintrust Financial, entertainment by acclaimed comedian and actor Jim Gaffigan, dinner and a live and silent auction.


Event Chairs -

Leona Gleason and Angelo Bufilino

Event Co-Chair -

Anna Jimemez

Auction Chair -

Suzu Neithercut

Committee -

Dr. Maria Ashley, Michael Boykins, Matt Doubleday,
Yvonne Douge, Gail Fitzpatrick,Susan Fraley,
Michael Johnstone, Dennis Jones, Virgil Jones, Jr.
Colleen McCaffery, Suzu Neithercut, John Patnaude,
Marcia Preston, Wendy Schenker, Johnathan T. Swain

Sponsorship/Auction/Tickets -

Please join us at our upcoming events, Private Equity Luncheon and Golf outing, TBA. Please continue to visit our online auction and thank you for your continued support of our scholars.

Sponsorship Benefits

Sponsorship Reply Form

Auction Form

This year we are excited to announce that bidding for the silent auction will begin on-line prior to the DreamKeepers Gala. Online bidding begins Wednesday, January 23 and will remain open through Monday, February 4 at 12:00 p.m., re-opening at 5:00 p.m. on February 6. The highest online bid will be the starting bid at the Gala when the auction re-opens at 5:00p.m. on Wednesday February 6.


2013 Award Recipient

Edward J. Wehmer
President & CEO

Wintrust Financial Corp.

Mr. Wehmer, a founder of the Wintrust Financial Corp., has served since May 1998 as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company. Prior to May 1998, he served as President and Chief Operating Officer of the Company since its formation in 1996. He served as the President of Lake Forest Bank from 1991 to 1998. He serves as an Advisory Director of each of the Company’s main operating Subsidiary and is a certified public accountant. Mr. Wehmer serves on the board of directors of Stepan Company (NYSE), a chemical manufacturing and distribution company. He also serves as a director of Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital and the Catholic Extension Society, on the audit committee of Northwestern Memorial Health Care, as a trustee for Children’s Memorial Hospital and Foundation, as a member of the advisory board of the Farmer School of Business of Miami University, and on the Finance Board and the School Board of the Archdiocese of Chicago.






Victory Park Advisors Bernstein Global


Image Media

Mr. & Mrs Jack & Cheryl Neal

Vedder Price


Chris & Kathy Perry/CIVC Partners

Schiff Hardin


The Exchange

Mr. & Mrs. David & Suzu Neithercut

Greenberg Traurig

Winston & Strawn


US Bank

Raffin Construction



Salvi Law

Garvey Office Supplies

Deluxe Corporation

Gordon Flesch Company
Fidelity Company

LaSalle Capital Group

Kimbark Liquors

Crowe Horwath

Wintrust Mortage

RBC Capital Markets

Mr. & Mrs. H. Patrick Hackett, Jr.

Colliers International
Mayer Brown


Dearborn Capital Management

Baker & McKenzie


Polsinelli Shughart

Securitas Security

Mr. & Mrs. William Sullivan



Univ of Chicago

Mr. John McKinnon

Friends of LINK Unlimited

Mr. & Mrs. Paul Crimmins, Mayer Brown
Wintrust Wealth Management
Mr. & Mrs. Bruce and Kathy Carbonari
Tribune Media Group
TCF Capital Funding
The Girsch Family
Mrs. Carolyn Palmer
Ms. Lynn VanCleave, Kemper Education Charitable Funds
Mr. Robert Berner Jr.
Draper & Kramer
Mr. Richard Tomlinson,Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Canal Barge
International Merchant LLC.
Freeborn and Peters
The Murnane Family Foundation